An Announcement!

Hey guys! How’s your Wednesday going so far? Mine has been fantastic-o!

I totally buckled down today and knocked out everything on my to-do list from this morning (and may have watched all of those shows… sorry TV diet.) But hey, you can’t win em all, right?

Anyways, I know it’s supposed to be “What I Ate Wednesday,” but I kinda ignored my camera from… oh, I don’t know, noon til seven? Which is when I did most of my eating? Whoopsieees. So, this week I’m changing it to…

 

What I Want to Do with My Life Wednesday (:

If you’ve read my About Me section, you might know that I’m currently bouncing back and forth between three majors – psychology, nutrition, and, most recently, early childhood education.

This weekend, something… clicked. I don’t know what made it feel so right, but I realized that I think I know what I want to focus on and really do with my life.

But how about I give the story first? Sounds good (:

So, in addition to my job where I teach gymnastics classes, I also recently started working birthday parties, and this weekend I worked one with a couple other girls, and there were some kids at the party who were like, four years old and younger.

Anyways, the party was a blast – as always – and while we were cleaning up, one of the girls said to me, “Sam, you were so good with the little kids. I don’t know how you do that.”

….

Not an outlandish statement, I guess. I did kinda stick with the smaller ones because I think I gravitate towards them typically, but I hardly noticed it. But for some reason, this statement really hit me. At the time, I just smiled and said thank you, because the girl who said it is one of my close work friends, but I couldn’t shake the feeling all night.

Now, my Senior Search – the senior project to be completed at the beginning of May – was to help out in my friend’s mom’s preschool classroom, but I just picked it because I knew I liked kids, not necessarily because I wanted to work with them.

But that situation has kinda changed.

After my friend said that to me Saturday, I was really thinking about it on the way home. And for the first time, I felt like I wouldn’t be making any compromises in terms of my happiness. I wouldn’t have to give anything that I think is important for my happiness. It was, truthfully, incredibly liberating and exciting.

So essentially, I’ll be changing my major to early childhood education so that I can work towards becoming a preschool teacher. Honestly, having such a clear picture of this makes me feel so fantastic. I know people say that you’ll change your major a ton of times, but I feel so tied to this, and it’s something that I feel I’ve always kind of known I love.

I’ll be posting more on this, but I just wanted to share the news because it’s seriously one of the most exciting things to happen to my week!

Did you change your major? What was/is it?

Have a great night & good morning!

Samantha

4 Comments

Filed under 2011, College, Work

4 responses to “An Announcement!

  1. I’m so glad you’re happy with your decision!! I applied to college as a communications major, then switched to business before I even GOT there and then after the first week I ended up in the psychology department and never left :) Now I’m getting my Master’s for Community Counseling!

  2. Peanut Butter Bandit

    Hi, Samantha! I just found your blog and I love it! :)

    I actually stuck with the same major throughout my degree (I’m not done yet- Jan 2013) but I DID change my plans for after graduation. I finally decided to attend a holistic nutrition school! :D So I definitely understand what you mean when you say it feels great to have the clear picture of your future.

    Best of luck!

    Blair

  3. That is AWESOME!
    My dream job is to be a teacher…high school teacher, but I love that you decided on that major :)
    Congrats!!! :D

  4. Pingback: How to Enjoy High School! « Moves 'N Munchies

Leave a Reply

